BOOK REVIEW: ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS

Giddiness and Butterflies

download

So what do I wish for? Something I’m not sure I want? Someone I’m not sure I need? Or someone I know I can’t have? Screw it. Let the fates decide. I wish for the thing that is best for me.

Bonjour, je m’appelle Arnelle!

Okay, first of all: Who can ever resist a male lead with a British accent? No one…or at least not in my case.

What made Etienne St. Clair more special than the other book male leads is the fact that he’s inches shorter than Anna and that’s a nice change from the whole YA-male-lead-perfection syndrome. He also has this best friend-slash-boyfriend material vibe going on which I like because usually male leads only fit in one of those categories but St. Clair fits in both perfectly.

Before I read this book, I knew that it was the kind of book that will make you feel butterflies in your stomach and that it’s just some normal teenage romance novel. I didn’t expect much because I just read it for some light reading while I was taking a break from my current fantasy book series read.

I finished it in about three days because I had school and stuff but I was surprised that this book actually made me so eager to go home and continue reading. I loved it so much that I even declined my friends’ invitations to hang out after class because I was so excited to finish this novel.

About Anna Oliphant, I love that she is so relatable and not an out-of-this-world type of female lead. She’s just this average teenager who doesn’t really try so hard and is just…herself. She basically has this what-you-see-is-what-you-get persona. Props to her because she did not annoy me that much when most of the time, female leads usually have the tendency to irritate me (haha).

Another plus point for this book is that it was set in Paris–art, coffee shops, Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, and a lot more sceneries. I cannot resist.

My Paris obsession ended like two years ago but because of this book, my love for Paris resurfaced and I would totally be down for an Anna and the French Kiss-inspired Paris tour (Yes, please!). Also, this book even made me want to learn the perfection that is the French language.

All in all, I give it 5/5 stars because it exceeded my expectations and it did not stray too far from its theme and also because I was just so giddy the entire time I was reading. I totally recommend it for those who want to read a fun and lighthearted book.

Tell me what you think of the novel!

All the love, Arnelle x

Leave a Reply

